I think they don’t want boys to wear girls’ clothes

This evening the kids and I were looking at pictures of sweaters from the brand Mulberribush Boys online (at Zulily.com, where you can get fantastic deals on higher end kids’ stuff). There was a blue sweater with a tow truck knitted into it that I thought (correctly) my two year-old daughter would love. I was curious to see what my four year-old son would like — the lover of all vehicles but also of frills and lace. We admired a beautiful sweater with a train zooming through the snow at night, and a rocket ship, among others. But he really liked a sweater with a sweet snowman wearing a funny hat the best.

Afterward, he suddenly said to me, “I don’t think they want boys to wear girls’ clothes.” Our conversation continued:

-Who are they? “The people who make the clothes, I guess.”

-Why? “Because it seems like they want to keep it separate.” -But why do you think they want to? “I don’t know.”

-Is it OK for girls to wear boys’ clothes? “I guess. But they want girls to wear dresses, and boys to wear shirts.”

So, he’s pretty much got it all figured out. I mentioned to him that in many other countries boys wear dresses and skirts all the time. He looked at me for a second or two, then walked into the other room.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I think they don’t want boys to wear girls’ clothes

  1. jessica says:

    i would love it if boys could wear girls clothes all the time.

Leave a Reply

